Some Twelvers accuse ‘Abdu’l-Bahá of being racist in the following passage:

On the other hand a man may call himself a Bahá’í for fifty years and if he does not live the life he is not a Bahá’í. An ugly man may call himself handsome, but he deceives no one, and a black man may call himself white yet he deceives no one: not even himself!” (‘Abdu’l-Bahá in London, p. 106)

In their perversity, they imagine that ‘Abdu’l-Bahá is comparing a black man to an ugly man and a white man to a handsome man. Just respond with the following narration from Twelvers during their annual commemoration of Ashura:

Then, Jawn [not John] the slave of Abá Ðar Al-Ghifári raised up and he was a black slave, and Al-Husayn (PUH) said to him: you have my permission to stay away, you’ve followed us for goodness so don’t be troubled in our own way, so he said: O son of the prophet of Allah (PUH) I lick your dishes in the good times, and in adversity I shall let you down? Then by Allah my smell shall be disgusting! and my ancestry shall be the most devilish! And verily my color shall be black! So, breath on me from the paradise, thus my smell would be the nicest and my ancestry shall be the best! And my face shall be the whitest! No by Allah, I shall never leave you until this black blood get mixed with your own bloods, (The Battle of Karbala)

Was Imam Husayn also racist? If not, then neither was ‘Abdu’l-Bahá. No double-standards.

